· 

6月のBest Post①日本(広島)へ留学した理由「Multidisciplinary nature in combining the human sciences and arts」

"Hey Al, are you in Japan, now?", "Hey Al, are you back already?" To answer your questions, here's a little introduction to what it's like studying abroad in Hiroshima, Japan (during the pandemic)! My arrival in Japan was delayed by 6 months due to COVID-19. Originally, I was supposed to arrive in April 2020 but I came here at the end of October 2020. Naturally, it came as no surprise to be dubbed as a student of the "Corona Generation". Life as an international student in the "new normal" required making adjustments (e.g. 14-day quarantine upon arrival in Japan, wearing face masks and maintaining social distancing) and sacrifices (minimise social gatherings and refrain from unnecessary travelling). Currently, I am a first year Doctoral Student (or D1 as the categorisation goes). Before becoming a Doctoral Student, I spent the first 6 months of my arrival in Japan as a Research Student at Hiroshima University. During this period, I was preparing to sit for my Entrance Examination* to enter the Graduate School. I passed the entrance examination in February 2021 and proceeded to enrol as a Doctoral Student at the Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Hiroshima University, Japan. (*The examination was in the form of an interview with a panel of experts and held online). I was attracted to this school because of its multidisciplinary nature in combining the human sciences and arts. The program I belong to is the Integrated Arts and Human Sciences Program. This program not only allows us to excel in our field of expertise but also gives us a chance to collaborate and network with researchers and academics from other disciplines. The world is plagued with multidisciplinary challenges that require solutions to come from all angles and perspectives. Hence, working together towards a common goal is ideal. Apart from that, this graduate school allowed me to pursue my interest, which is Applied Linguistics (in English) and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) under the guidance of an experienced sensei. My courses and research project are entirely in English. So, yes. Fret not. It is possible to study English Linguistics (英語学) in Japan despite having a minimal understanding of the Japanese language 🙂 (That’s me!). Other reasons for studying abroad in Japan are to experience a different style of education, to challenge myself by living in a foreign land with a foreign language and culture, to meet new people and make lifelong friends. Hopefully, upon return to my home country, Malaysia, I am equipped with a broader perspective on life itself and memories for keepsakes. -End of Part 1-