· 

ひろしま留学大使 インタビューvol.8 Sally Knox


Sally Knox(サリー ノックス)

オーストラリア → 東広島

広島大学



Please introduce yourself

I’m Sally from Australia. My hometown is a tiny place called South Boambee where there were more cows than people. I’m currently a PhD candidate at Hiroshima University. My research is about English education in Japan. I really like cats, coffee and karaoke.

 


Why did you apply for HSAA?

I want to participate more in Japanese culture and especially see the Hiroshima perspective. I spend most of my time at the university, so I do not get to see what the rest of Hiroshima prefecture has to offer. I hope to meet more people, absorb more of the real life in the area and offer my perspective on what we experience.

 


Why did you choose the university in Hiroshima?

Hiroshima University is known throughout Japan for being the best place to study English education. I contacted a professor who had similar research goals as me and so he sponsored me for the MEXT scholarship.

 


What are good points of Hiroshima?

The theme of the city of peace and unity are well reflected in the calm and forward-thinking nature of the city. It is a good-sized city that you can enjoy it without being overwhelmed. Of course, the most important thing is the Hiroshima style okonomiyaki.

 


Please give a message to the students who think to study in Japan?

Knowing the basics of Japanese before you arrive will be so beneficial to easing your way in. People are polite and respectful but can be difficult to get to know, especially because they can be nervous speaking English/languages other than Japanese. It can take time to make good friends with Japanese people sometimes, so having a bit of Japanese language can go a long way! Also, I hope you like rice.