· 

ひろしま留学大使 インタビューvol.2 Meas Soth


Meas Soth(ミア ソシト)

カンボジア → 東広島市

広島大学



Please introduce yourself

Hello. This is Soth from Cambodia. My full name is Meas Soth, but I would love you to just call me “Soth”. I am a first year Master's student in Educational Development Course at the Graduate School for International Development and Cooperation (IDEC) of Hiroshima University. Before coming to Japan, I was an English language teacher for 5 years at one public high school in Cambodia's capital city, Phnom Penh. Other than that, I had also worked for some private schools as a part-time teacher of English. I have a great passion for teaching, and probably only those who are also teachers can feel it. I lived in Phnom Penh with my parents and my 2 younger brothers. I am the eldest of the three children in the family. 


Why did you apply for HSAA?

It all began on one day in October 2017, when I was scrolling up and down my Facebook newsfeed, I saw a shared post of the interview from Hiroshima Study Abroad Ambassador (HSAA) page. I suddenly went to the page to see what the page is really about and what activities they are involved with. I found the goals of HSAA and activities are so interesting that I really want to engage in, because I used to be the Organizing Committee when I was in university in Cambodia, and I did quite a lot of voluntary work too. Moreover, I am a person who kind of love making new friends, experiencing new things (particularly now Japanese fascinating culture and society), and travelling to new places all over Japan. My ultimate goal is not only to bring a degree back home but also memories, friends, unique beauty of the 4 seasons, and many others which even when I am apart, they all still remain in my heart forever. I want to make the most out of my precious time in Japan so that I will leave Japan with no regrets.


Why did you choose the university in Hiroshima?

I come to Japan under Japanese Grant Aid for Human Resource Development Scholarship (JDS) which is now known as Japanese Grant Aid (JDS) Scholarship. The scholarship is open for 12 countries, one of which is Cambodia. So technically, in each country, there are some specific accepting universities according to the applicant’s fields of study and research topics. In my case, I am in the field of Education, so automatically I will be accepted to Hiroshima University.


What are good points of Hiroshima?

First, Hiroshima is home to two world heritage sites—Itsukushima Shrine on Miyajima island and the Hiroshima Peace Memorial, popularly known as the Atomic Bomb Dome. Isn’t it amazing to be able to see these two famous sites all at once by just visiting Hiroshima? Second is Hiroshima delicacies. Ideally situated on the edge of the peaceful Seto Inland Sea, Hiroshima is famous for fresh raw oysters. It makes my mouth water whenever I think of the last time I had the freshly grilled oysters for only 500 yen on Miyajima island. Other than that, Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki and Momiji manju are also a must-try local food when you come to Hiroshima. 


Please give a message to the students who think to study in Japan?

Many of my friends feel reluctant to come to Japan for the reason that they will have to study Japanese language in addition to the regular class programs. As in my case, I am not obliged to learn Japanese language. However, if I were, I would choose to turn this obstacle into an opportunity, the opportunity that helps me learn and grow rather than an obstacle that keeps me stuck. It’s a great opportunity to learn another new language anyway. Another thing, choosing to study in Japan will not be a disappointment. There are so many things you can learn from Japan and Japanese people. It will gradually change your study habits, attitudes, behavior, and perspective. This will ultimately change your life forever, and of course it is a change for the better. All in all, there is nothing to worry about. You will love Japan 😊