· 

ひろしま留学大使 インタビューvol.12 Nakayenga Joyce Justine Namutebi


Nakayenga Joyce Justine Namutebi

Uganda → Higashihiroshima

Hiroshima University



Q1. Please introduce yourself.

I’m Nakayenga Joyce Justine Namutebi. My name is long. I’m a reserved person, joyful like my name. I have a Bsc in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Uganda Christian University. My home district is Mukono, 21km from Kampala City which is the Capital of Uganda. I grew up in another district. I moved back to my home district as an undergraduate student. I love watching football, making friends, dancing, shouting and listening to music. I am an Inspector of General Safety in the Ministry of Labour, Gender and Social Development. Prior to that, I was a tutorial assistant, motivating students to work hard. I like motivating people.

Q2. Why did you apply to HSAA?

Before I came to Japan, I did a background study of life in Japan but barely found articles from Hiroshima. The articles I found were by students from developed countries and I could not relate to them. I knew Africans are in Japan but hardly found their articles. I decided to make it my mission to write about my life in Japan to motivate Africans. People back home were skeptical about me choosing Hiroshima. I decided to take any opportunity to know about Hiroshima and use it to encourage others to come study here.


Q3. Why did you choose the university in Hiroshima?

I had to choose a university that catered to my research proposal. My area is cement treated fine grain soils and Hiroshima University has a professor who majors in that specific research area. He accepted me as his research student. The response he gave me was quick. In one day, he had responded to my email. My intuition told me it was my choice. My professor connected me to the international exchange centre who sent me valuable information about studying at Hiroshima University. My background check on how quickly Hiroshima was rebuilt after the bomb made me realize Hiroshima would be good for my personal growth.

Q4. What are the good points of Hiroshima?

The people, their character, the way they welcomed me was a surprise. I felt like a queen! 

Hiroshima university education system is centred on individual students, focusing on improving or correcting weaknesses and drawbacks. Professors focus on individual qualities and improvement of students.

People are kind. Free tickets to soccer game, for example. Host families are unique to Hiroshima. My friends in other universities do not have.

 

Hiroshima is not as expensive as the rest of Japan, thus conducive for someone from a developing country.


Q5. Please give a message to your Kohai (the students) who plan studying abroad in Japan.

They should be confident that education in Japan is the best because it is research based. So far, I have been given a broader view of my research area. My eyes have been opened.

 

The people in Japan are always willing to help you when you are lost or in need.

 

Life here is easier and more convenient.

 

Day duration in summer is the best. I am an early riser and the sun rises so early in spring and summer. Days are more productive.

 

Security is the best. You can go anywhere without fear of being attacked.

 

Please be curious and open minded by learning the Japanese culture. I think it is the culture that has made Japan a developing country.