· 

ひろしま留学大使 インタビューvol.4 Gerard Gallagher


Gerard Gallagher

Northern Ireland → Hiroshima

Prefectural University of Hiroshima



Q1. Please introduce yourself.

My name is Gerard. I'm a first year masters student at the Prefectural University in Hiroshima.

I am from Northern Ireland. My hobbies are reading, piano and tennis. I am reading in Computer Science. I am a part-time English teacher, which I enjoy as I get to see the progress my students make and the happiness they get from learning and the application of their new knowledge. 

I also help co-organize a language exchange group called Hiroshima Jam. This group holds a weekly meet up and often holds other events such as BBQs.

Q2. Why did you apply to HSAA?

To share my experience with anyone who is considering Hiroshima as a place of study and to aid them in their decision. I also want to encourage people to be more active and encourage people to participate in local events and to communicate with the friendly residents of Hiroshima and Japan in general.


Q3. Why did you choose the university in Hiroshima?

My university that I graduated from in Northern Ireland had a relationship with PUH. I had planned to do a masters in Germany. However, the research in Hiroshima was more interesting to me. I will also be perusing a PhD at the same university as my masters. This allows me to get more in-depth knowledge of research area.

Q4. What are the good points of Hiroshima?

The people are friendly, in comparisons to other Japanese cities, it is quieter. Japanese food is delicious compared to my home country’s food. 

I’ve been to Tokyo, Yokohama, Kyoto, Osaka, Okayama and Shimonoseki.


Q5. Please give a message to your Kohai (the students) who plan studying abroad in Japan.

My advice is to participate actively in Hiroshima events. I would also highly encourage everyone to make an active attempt to learn as much Japanese as they can, before during and hopefully after their stay in Hiroshima. By doing these two things, you will find it easier to make friends, and enjoy your life in Hiroshima.