Miyajima

Hi guys, this is Joyce from Uganda. I am currently a student at Hiroshima University. I thought I would share this about Miyajima. # English only.

 

To many travel is an excursion to some it is an expedition. Trips in Hiroshima prefecture have taught me lots but most of all pleasure is synonymous to education. Well this is what Japan is all about as evidenced from Ninja Warrior my favorite . let's focus on the Itsukushima Shrine and its Torii Gate that appear to be floating on water at high tide. These have been declared one of the three views of Japan as seen from Mt. Misen.

 

The timber constructions are amazing and have stood hundreds of years amidst waves and typhoons of the sea!!! I thought these structures are worthy a write on as they live in harmony with the sea and still stand the taste of time. In the Museum of Historical and Folklore Materials at the island, their design is revealed. When in Japan please visit Miyajima and don't forget to take a hike to Mt. Misen.

 

“Travel and change of place impart new vigor to the mind.” – Seneca