· 

ひろしま留学大使 インタビューvol.22 Novi Syaftika


Novi Syaftika     (ノフィ シャフティカ)

インドネシア → 東広島市

広島大学



Please introduce yourself.

My name is Novi Syaftika, you can call me Novi. I’m a student of graduate school of Engineering, 1st year for doctor course in Hiroshima University.

I’m from Indonesia.

Why did you apply to HSAA?

First, I was told by my friend, she was used to be an ambassador. She contacted me because she knows that I really love this kind of activity interacted people. And I love Hiroshima! I’d love to do something for this city.

I’ve been here for more than 2 years, I’d love to share my experience living here as a student.


Why did you choose the university in Hiroshima?

I didn’t really select the place at first. I selected it based on professor. My field is re-newable energy and I found a professor here who really matches my major. That’s why I choose this university. Then I found Hiroshima is such a nice place because it’s not at the very north or south but middle in Japan, the space is wide and it’s not as crowded as Tokyo, also it’s not so empty. It’s such a nice place! So I decided to be here. At first I didn’t know Hiroshima University is in Saijo as I thought it’s in Hiroshima city. It’s here in Saijo, but it’s green and healthy environment.

In addition, my life here is not only for studying. Studying is a main purpose but it’s really nice to add activities besides studying. I like to make friends and then we had been doing such activities so your life is not so boring. I like to organize event, I like to be involved such activities. I used to be a president of Hiroshima University International Students Association (HUISA). Our team held some activities such as season event like hanami, momiji, and charity. By organizing and joining these kinds of activities, we make friends and we also hang out even it’s not organization activities.

How much Japanese language skill did you need when you enter the university?

When we applied the scholarship, there were no requirements that we have to speak Japanese or have experience in japan. Zero Japanese experience is okay. Requirement in my country is studying in English. Minimum TOEFL score is 550, so if I have a score more than 550, then I can apply. So many international students here cannot speak Japanese because there was no such requirement before they come. Most of us learn basic Japanese like hiragana, only in a short term like 1 semester. I’ve studied intensive Japanese course for 1 semester. After that I had so many classes in engineering and also belonged special program so I had additional classes, joining Japanese classes was so difficult for me with lots of homework and etc. But I’m still learning. When people talk I understand! Speaking is still just a little bit difficult.

The university wants to have many international students so they make a program as easiest as possible for international students like IDEC. They make program as easiest as possible, so everybody can come here. Don’t have to worry about Japanese. But we realize that Japanese actually is very important. We suppose to put Japanese priority to learn even though everything is internationalized now here, all classes are in English, the professor speaks English and Japanese friends also speak English. 


What are the good points of Hiroshima?

Oh that’s a lot! First, it’s very famous for peace and atomic bomb. Hiroshima is one of the most famous places in Japan. I realize, actually this is the same as any other prefecture, it’s very well organized, especially the city, so it’s very nice to live. Very convenient, so many beautiful places such as Miyajima which is one of symbols of Japan. I’m so proud to being here in Hiroshima. Seto inland sea is also beautiful with many islands. 

Beautiful nature, nice people, nice weather!

Please give a message to your Kohai (the students) who plan studying abroad in Japan.

Wow there is a lot of things I want to say!

Studying abroad is something you need in your life. Through this experience you will understand other culture and you will also learn how people are different. Understand people from different perspective. And it’s challenging too. 

For those who love traveling like me, japan is a perfect place to go because tourist’s destinations here are very very nice. You can travel anywhere you go, it’s so easy although you cannot really speak Japanese. You can go anywhere in japan without worry, it’s so safe.

Studying environment is also very nice. I can feel that the university supports the students a lot by providing lots of facilities. Hiroshima University supports the international students a lot by facilitating us, teaching Japanese, holding many activities with Japanese students like tour, chatting, cooking also helping us to find a place to stay. Because this university has lots of students, more than 1000, we can feel the university support us a lot.

And it’s really important to have such kind of experience for your life. You can use this experience later when you work in your career and in your personal life. 

It’s great to make friends with people from different countries because Japan has many international students from many countries. You will broaden your network all over the world.